top of page
  • Writer's pictureHouse Proud Solutions

The best way to get things done is to start...

1. Know what you already have.

If you store items that are similar to each other, you'll know exactly what you have and where it is. For example I store my batteries in a handy battery tester storage unit, not only are they all together, so I don't buy more than I need, I can test any that I find lying around (usually when my partner takes them out of something and leaves in a drawer) to see if I should recycle them or keep them. I love this tip because it not only reduces over buying, therefore saving you money but subsequently saves you so much time.


2. Keep focused, one task at a time.

When you feel a decluttering and organising urge, go with it. Just remember one thing at a time. For example, tackle the wardrobe one day and complete that task. If you feel like you want to carry on after that task is complete, move onto the next task.


Try to resist starting a different task in every room, you'll be overwhelmed by stuff being everywhere and nowhere being sorted in the time you've allocated to declutter and organise. It's always better when doing a task to be able to reach your end goal and feel that sense of achievement upon completion.


3. How to declutter.

If you've set yourself the task of decluttering and organising, firstly well done. How do you begin? There are many methods by renowned decluttering experts like Marie Kondo but we each have our own unique approach that works for us. Feel free to adapt our methods to what works for you and your home, there's not one size fits all but we feel they will suit most (after all they're tried and tested).


We use the following items to help us: pen, paper or labels, bin bags, boxes, storage boxes (multiple sizes) background music of your choice and a drink (alcoholic or not, the choice is yours).


We write these labels onto the paper or stickers; keep; sort (things like paperwork that you need to look through properly before filing or shredding); donate; sell and recycle. Begin by putting on your chosen motivational music, drink at the ready and have in the back of your mind "If I were to move house would I want to take all of this with me?"



Next, get all items that are similar together, (in the area you decided to declutter) and make a decision on each, placing them into the chosen category.


When making decisions on placing the items into the correct category, we ask clients to consider when they last used the item, if more than 12 months ago do you really need it? This helps you to make an informed choice.


People can find it hard to let go of items they feel they paid a lot of money for but admit they no longer want or need. Our advise is to try to sell it. You'll feel better knowing you've got some money back from that purchase, rather than it sitting in a cupboard, collecting dust.


If it is broken and you intend to repair it, set yourself a deadline to do so and if you don't then recycle it.


Items that you no longer want, that are good enough to donate (those you don't wish to try to sell), think of it as giving them a new home, someone else joy from the item that you once enjoyed too.


If it's sentimental to you or you still find a use for it, keep it. Ensure you organise it with similar items, so you can access it easily and get proper use and enjoyment out of it.


For items that are broken, worn beyond further use, dispose of them responsibly, recycling them wherever possible.


4. Store sentimental items in a meaningful and accessible way.

There are great companies out there now, that scan all your printed photographs onto a memory stick for you and allow you to them save them onto a digital cloud or drive so you can access them anywhere and never lose them. This is a great service, helping to reduce the number of boxes or albums laying around the house. However, there are some photographs that are so special to us, we need to display the originals. I'm a great believer in taking time to appreciate sentimental things, reliving memories, physically feeling and looking at the things that are special to us.


Memory boxes are a great way to organise those sentimental items, special photographs, items of clothing, that concert ticket etc. During lockdown I've loved looking through my memory box. It contains items like my baby book, old school report cards, letters from my late Nan, photographs and old diaries. The boxes I use for this are beautiful in their own right, they should be, as they need to entise you into looking through them regularly. Sentimental items benefit us if we actual take time out to enjoy them and take trips down memory lane.


5. Cut down on space taken up by books, computer games, CDs and DVDs

Years ago, I went through all my DVDs and sorted them into DVD wallets by film genre, as my collection filled a whole bookcase. I keep all series DVDs together and movies separately. Nowadays, not many people still have DVDs or even a DVD player but if you do then think of how much space you could save by taking them out of their cases (recycle them) and store in a DVD wallet. The same storage can be used for CDs, computer games and anything on a disc.


Books I'm pretty good with, I keep no more than 20 in my house and once read I donate them to friends or charity. If that number sounds far too low for you, set a reasonable amount that you'd like to keep. If you already have hundreds, make a promise to yourself to take the time (we all have more time at home now during lockdown) to read them and donate once you've read them. Importantly, try not to buy any new books, until you've read the ones you have.


6. Products and produce.

Rule number one applies here too. Store like with like, to avoid an unnecessary over purchasing. No one needs 20 toilet rolls (unless you have an exceptionally large family) or six different types of hand soap.


Go through items to see if they are passed their best. If they're still items you use, store similar items together and donate or recycle those you don't need. I always ask clients to try to use the items they have before buying new ones, for example how many mini toiletry sets do we have sat in a drawer, conditioners, hairspray or moisturisers.


A category of product I struggle with over buying is stationary, I love it. I use a lot of it in my job, I try to justify my purchases to myself that it's a business need rather than a want but if I'm honest with myself, I know I don't need that new rose gold pen, I could have saved the money and used the 10 other pens I have in my pencil case at home. It was just so beautiful. I'm sure you'll allow me this one slip up, no one is perfect after all, not even the experts.


7. How does your home make you feel?

It is scientifically proven that a tidy home leads to better sleep. I think this is because if we are honest with ourselves, mess in our homes clutters our minds. How can we get a restful night's sleep, to rejuvenate and reenergise our body's and mind's if we cannot stop worrying about the space we are in?


Scientists have long said we are the products of our environment's. Does your environment reflect the person you are or want to be? If we make steps to declutter our homes, it will in turn free our minds to a much calmer and relaxed place. Our homes should allow relaxation, enjoyment, safety and revitalisation. If your home doesn't make you feel this way, remember you have the power to change it.


"The best way to get things done, is to start!" Sian Waldon.


Finally, and most importantly, remember to take one day at a time, one task at a time and know you've got this!


If you found this blog useful please share with your friends on social media. Please use #houseproudsolutionsblogtips for any images you share as a result of tips from this blog. We love to see your projects.


If you need any further help, please get in touch on our contact page to arrange a virtual consultation.




29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page